The Pseudo-Kunoichi from Another World (Part 19): The Kagura Family’s Daily Life – “First Visit to the Guild”

Content Warning: Brief mentions in the first section of kidnapping and rape, impregnation by monsters, and death by monster childbirth.


A horde of about 20 monsters was charging up and blocking a road, all of their eyes on the girl just 10 meters ahead of them. They were giant, pig-faced monsters, close to 2 meters in size: 

Orcs. 

They don’t only breed with their species, but others’ females as well such as humans, beast-men, and elves. If it’s purely for keeping their population numbers sustainable, keeping to their kind was enough, but taking other species was pleasurable to them. As a result, those they caught found themselves carrying rapidly growing offspring.

They wouldn’t be half-orcs. If even a single parent is an orc, another orc will always be born. And as they’re huge from birth, almost all of the kidnapped women can’t bear the rapid gestation and the delivery and die as a result. 

It was obvious they were only going for the girl, as she was pulling a cart full of nothing but hay.

“Gehehehehe…” says the leader, a giant carrying a large bronze sword over his shoulder. “It’s been too long since we’ve been this excited, eh?”

The girl looks to her right and sees an incline leading up to a cliff, to her left and sees a field with waist-high grass. She doesn’t hesitate to abandon her cart and rushes off to the field like a rabbit.

“It’s useless!” yells the leader. “Stop running! We’re going to catch you!”

 “Why is this happening to me…?” the red-haired girl thinks before she recalls what happened earlier that morning.


Earlier that morning.

There’s a new mansion built in the northern section of Port Sazan’s shopping district. Despite it being made of wood, it radiates a quiet, elegant sort of class, and news of its existence has quickly spread throughout the city and beyond.

After all, no one noticed nor knew how it was built.

… Except for me, because I did it.

Yes, this is our new home, a samurai residence I christened “House Kagura”. (AKA “My and Nellie’s Love Nest”)

I’m currently inside one of the rooms, on a tatami mat, and looking out to the veranda. Suddenly, Walter appeared with a serious face as he brought in some bamboo shoot tea. “You promised you’d take us to the guild, right?” he asked as he set it down. “I want to get stronger.

“I was naive back then,” he continued. “I broke my promise to you and left the girls all alone. It felt good at the time but in the end, I was just a powerless kid.

“At the very least, I want to be strong enough to protect my family in an emergency,” Walter finishes.

“Ms. Shino, we also want to join the guild, please!” Laurina says as she rushes in soon after.

“Those who don’t work, don’t get to eat, right…?” Mavin added.

Stop it you two! Your [Persuasion] skills are devastatingly strong!

“Hmm…” I grumble. “You guys have jobs maintaining this place. You’re not freeloaders, alright?”

“Of course we’ll do that too!” Walter said. “So please…”

“Please,” the girls say as they line up in front of me… no, they’re performing one of my hometown’s cultural practices:

The dogeza.1

 “Alright, I’ll do it…” I sigh. “But don’t complain if your stats aren’t high enough to be adventurers, alright?”

(The stats of the average person range from 8-12 and the conventional wisdom goes that you’ll have a hard time if you don’t have at least one at 13 or above. So depending on your stats, you may be prevented from registering and getting a card.)

“Ah!” Walter cries. “Thank you, Ms. Shino!”

“Thank you!” Laurina and Mavin echo.

For a while, I’ve just been thinking of enjoying a self-indulgent life… especially with Nellie during the day, taking a dip in the hot springs, or getting her to try new clothes on.

“Nellie?” I called out towards the kitchen. “We’re going to the guild, want to come with us?”

Nellie sprinted out towards, dressed in an apron and slippers from when she was cooking then cleaning up after breakfast. “Yes, Lady Shino, I’d love to accompany you,” she says as she sits down in the hall with a hand to the floor like a cat.

“Gah…” 

It’s official. Nellie’s [Persuasion] was stronger than three people combined.


When we stepped into the adventurers guild, everyone suddenly started talking about us.

“Hey, it’s her. The Creator, she’s The Creator.”

“I heard this time she built a mansion in a day…”

“No, no way, that can’t be true…”

“What’s going to happen to that monster mansion now?”

“I heard a rumour she also killed a sea dragon and a greater demon…”

“So why is she still B-rank?”

The rumours go on through the entire length of the guild, and some even step up to try to invite me to their parties. “Hey, how are you doing?” said a handsome, silver-haired ranger as he grabs my shoulder. “The Creator, yeah? Those little kids must be a real pain to drag around, huh? And here our party is full of high-ranking adventurers. Would you like to jo—ooiii…?!”

As Nellie held her knife to the ranger’s throat, she said, “My Lady demands a minimum of Level 50. Come back then.”

“O-Oh, is that so…?” the ranger says, his confidence gone in the face of a young Beast-man girl getting the jump on him.

“Ahahaha~ sorry, did I not make that public before?” I said. “Oh, and Nellie? Don’t cause a ruckus here in the guild.”

“… Understood, my apologies, Lady Shino,” Nellie said.

Nellie bumps into the handsome ranger’s shoulder as we proceed to the registration counter. “He-llo~” I call out to the clerk who mans it, same as the one on my first day here.

“Hello, it’s been awhile, hasn’t it, Ms. Shino?” she says as she comes up. “We’ve heard so much news about your achievements. Anyway, how may I help you today?”

“Oh, not me, I’d like to please register there three today,” I said, looking back at Walter and the girls.

“Ah, I see…” the clerk says as she starts preparing the necessary equipment. “It is important to guide and mentor the next generations of adventurers, after all.”

… I wouldn’t say I’m going that far.

“Now, please write your name, age, gender, and desired class on this form,” the clerk said. “Date of birth is optional.”

“Okay, got it,” Walter said as he started filling it out. “But what are the classes I can choose right now?”

“Well, there are six Beginner Classes: Warrior, Mage, Healer, Thief, Monk, and Ranger,” the clerk began. “But, depending on your stats and other conditions, there can be much more available to you. 

“However, Advanced Classes will require special approval from the guild, heroes, and/or the royal family before you can change to them; these are the likes of Masters-of-Arms, Holy Knights, Seekers, Kunoichi, Assassins, and Swordmasters.”

“… Ms. Shino is a Kunoichi, right? How did she change to an advanced class?”

The clerk explains before I have to. “No, she did not, Ms. Shino was the originator of the Kunoichi class and thus was a Kunoichi from time of registration. It’s currently registered as one of the highest-ranking classes because of its skills and exceptional stat bonuses.”

“Heh…” Walter says. “I suppose it’s only right for Ms. Shino to have one of the best classes.”

“If you wish to look beyond the six beginner classes, we can check your qualifications with this instrument,” the clerk says as she brings out a stone tablet that resembles the one I registered my skills at.

… It’s glowing in prismatic hues.

“Alright,” Walter says as he the girls say as they all lay their hands on it. “Well, how’s it looking?”

“Yes, everything is proceeding normally,” the clerk says, before she falls suspiciously, eerily silent. “… Huh?”

“W-What happened?” I say. “Did something go wrong?”

“… No, I’m sorry for worrying you, Ms. Shino,” the clerk said. “It’s just that… all three of them qualify for rare classes.”

“… Is that unusual?”

“Very much so,” the clerk replies. “Aside from the six beginner classes, most others are geared for non-combat work, such as maids, peasants, and scribes. The probability of becoming a rare class at the time of registration is about 1 in 100… and here we have three of them at once. As to be expected of your companions, Ms. Shino.”

Is that so…? Well, I suppose it was the same back with Nellie…

“This awesome!” Walter yells. “Well? What can I become?” he asks, leaning over the counter and right in the clerk’s face.

I pull him back. Calm down a little, will you…?

“Yes, right away…” the clerk said. “Aside from the six jobs, you qualify for Shadow Thief, Soldier, Light Warrior, Butler, and the rare class, Crimson Butler.”

“Crimson Battler?!” Walter yells. “That’s sounds cool! Come on, make me that!”

“Oh, right away…” the clerk says. “The class description is…”

“Nah, I’m good,” Walter said. “Listen to the name, ‘Crimson Battler’? You know how strong it is already just from that.”

“U-Understood,” the clerk says before she turns to Laurina. “The next person would be… this young lady with the brown hair. Your available classes are Maid, Light Warrior, Acrobat, Beast Tamer, or the rare class, Grand Beast Tamer. The last class allows you to use not only regular animals but also monsters as your familiars.”

“Grand Beast Tamer…” Laurina mutters. “Does that mean I can fight with animals? If so, that’s my choice!”

Yep, thought as much.

“And finally, for this blonde young lady…” the clerk says, turning to Mavin. “Aside from the basic classes… you qualify for Maid, Druid, Peasant, Gardener, and the rare class, Floramancer. The last is a magic-focused class like mage and healer, and has a wide range of abilities such as controlling plant-life, communicating with them, and healing also.”

“… Can I talk to flowers…?” Mavin asks, looking tense.

“You could if you acquire the right skill.”

“… Then I choose that,” Mavin says, cheeks flushed with a little smile on her face.

“Right then, please write your desired classes on your forms,” the clerk said. “You won’t be registering your skills and abilities like Ms. Shino, so please continue to the class change room.”

“Ah, like back when Nellie did?”

“Yes, it’s the same one.”

“Got it,” I said. We double-checked everyone’s forms then I said, “Alright, let’s go, everyone.”


“Hey, Mister!” I call out to the old Sage sitting in the back of the room, as always. 

… It just occurred to me I don’t know his name. Oh well.

“Ah, greetings, it’s been a while,” the Sage says.

“I want to change the classes of these three kids,” I say, gesturing to Walter and the girls.

“Yes, I did just receive urgent rare class requests from the front desk a few moments ago…” the Sage says. “Perhaps it’s for the young ladies… fate was certainly kind to the young Beast-man girl.”

“Ah, haha…” I chuckle.

“Well, everything is prepared,” the Sage says. “Who will be going first?”

“Oh, me, me!” Walter said as his hand shoots up into the air. “Me first, please!”

“Then please stand in the middle of that magic circle and don’t move,” the Sage says.

 “Yes!” Walter cries, very excited. “I got it.”

“Then let us begin…!” the Sage calls out.

The process began…


… And all three were successfully registered.

“So does this mean I can become good friends with Mae?” Laurina asks, her spirits higher than ever. (Before you ask, Mae is one of the goats we keep at the house.)

“Fufu…” Mavin says with her arms folded over her chest. “Level 1 and I’ve already got [Flora Communication]… I’m so happy.”

Compared to the girls, however, Walter could only feel dismayed. “Why… how?” he asked as he looked at his guild card over and over again. “Didn’t she say it was ‘Crimson Battler’?! So why does my card say ‘Crimson Butler’?! What’s going on…?

Yes, Walter did not realize the difference until it was already too late. (Ahahaha.)

“There, there, it’s still a rare class, right?” I tell him.

“Ugh…” Walter said. “I appreciate the attempt but you’re just twisting the knife here…”

“Well, nothing we can do about it now…” I mutter. “If you level up and you can come back to change your class again, so don’t lose hope.”

“Ugh… guhh… damn iiiiit…!” Walter howls.

… I wonder what’s in store for Walter’s future?


  1. Dogeza is a Japanese custom of kneeling on the ground and bowing your head as a sign of respect, for asking for something, and especially as apology for wrongdoing. Traditionally speaking, the lower your head is to the ground, the more respectful, the harder you’re begging, or the more sorry you’re perceived to be.
BACKNEXT

4 thoughts on “The Pseudo-Kunoichi from Another World (Part 19): The Kagura Family’s Daily Life – “First Visit to the Guild”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started