The Demon King’s Daughter in Yuri Heaven (EP 8): First Half of Training (2)

Spell names will be localized from now on to make it sound better to English speakers. Credit to yurota for the help and the suggestion last chapter.


Yusha is the daughter of a Legendary Hero… but looking back on it I should have guessed. Such powerful magic completely obliterated the target. My chances of beating her with Demon Magic even at full power… are not looking too good, if I’m honest.

“Li-Lily?” Yusha asks. “Why do you look so terrified?”

“Yusha…” I mutter, “you…”

“Right! Let’s move on to the next training!” the teacher says as they hand me water. “Everyone had good results in attack magic, Yellows and Blues. Yusha was extremely irregular, going past Purple.”

Yusha chuckles sheepishly; she doesn’t seem to catch the sarcasm and looks shyly to the side. Cute…

“The last exercise of today’s practical training is defensive magic against enemy attack. You’ve also learned defensive magic earlier this morning, right?”

Those that hadn’t thought to take their defensive magic seriously were forced to for the sake of afternoon practical training. There’s a risk of injury which is why the teachers take it so seriously.

“Alright!” Shilde says, standing with her arms crossed. “It’s my turn to shine.”

“You’re looking pretty confident, Shilde!” I say. She was below average in offensive magic, after all.

“That’s because I’m good at this magic,” Shilde replies.

Of course, she is… she’s got a small shield on her left arm, it’s obvious she’s willing to play the role of a tank.

“If you’re that confident, Shilde, then let’s have you as an example. Attack magic systems, on!”

With the teacher providing mana, the machines on the wall activate, something like a cannon emerges.

“Here we go~!” the teacher says. “Three. Two. One… fire!”

The teacher’s words are punctuated with a “Boom!” The sound echoes in the training room. I wonder if that could have been the spell “Bullet”.

“Heh,” Shilde says. “Take this… ‘Shield’!”

The shield on her left arm expands with her magic and becomes a large, light-green barrier.

Shilde lets out a battle cry as the “Bullet” hits! Smoke pours out from the point of impact… is she okay?

“Nothing to it!” Shilde says, standing proud.

“Yay!” Yusha cheers. “Go, Shilde!”

“… Well, there you have it,” the teacher says. “I don’t think any other Tank Candidates have a shield, but so long as you can use the ‘Shield’ spell, please protect yourself with it.”

The teacher’s instructions are strict and cold. Everyone puts on more serious faces than before as they could get hurt…

“Will you be alright, Hira?” I ask.

“I… I… I can do the basic defense spells…” Hira said, “I’m sure…”

I’m worried. I put my hands on Hira’s shoulders and look her right in the eyes.

“Huh?!” Hira squeaks. “U-Um, I…”

“Listen, Hira,” I said, “the most dangerous thing to do is to put up a shield without confidence. Put your guard up with pride! Think you can do it?”

“Yes,” Hira says.

Yep, that’s a good reply.

“Next, Hira?” the teacher asks.

“Ready!” she says.

Agh… I’m still nervous…

“Three. Two. One… fire!”

“Protect me…” Hira says, “‘Shield’!”

“Alright!” I cry. She put up a ‘Shield’ properly! She did it!

Yusha giggles and says, “You’re a good person, aren’t you Lily?”

“Huh, what?” I ask. “What was that just now?”

“You just gave advice and support to Hira, right?” Yusha says. “That makes you a good person, doesn’t it?”

“… You call me that but it fits you better, doesn’t it?” I ask.

“What? Me too?”

“Of course! Look at you.

“Next!” the teacher calls, “Lily!”

My turn. Well… if I want to get good results, I’m going to have to completely absorb the impact without causing smoke. To do that, it’d be difficult using the low magic ‘Shield’. In that case…

“Three. Two. One… fire!”

“Null Wall!”1

Intermediate magic! Stop everything dead!

The moment the ‘Bullet’ impacts, there was only a tiny amount of smoke and noise, nothing more. Alright! I’ve got the perfect shield!

“Lily, you…” Shilde says, “that’s amazing…”

I got a compliment from Shilde. Does that mean she finally recognizes my power because it’s defensive magic?

“You can do better, Shilde,” I said. “Well, the next is Yusha, right?”

“Next…” the teacher says, “Yusha!”

“Ready!” she says, walking up proudly.

“Three. Two. One… launch!”

“‘Sacred Buckler’!” Yusha cries.

She’s surrounded by dazzling light as she slowly holds out her right hand. She catches the flying ‘Bullet’ in her palm, without a sound or any smoke.

… Wow…. that’s the power of the daughter of a Legendary Hero!


  1. Original is “Blank Wall”.

3 thoughts on “The Demon King’s Daughter in Yuri Heaven (EP 8): First Half of Training (2)

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started