The Demon King’s Daughter in Yuri Heaven (EP 7): First Half of Training (1)

I was wondering what the training room would look like…

“It’s huu-uge!”

… Yusha shouted before I could comment. Well, that was basically my thoughts, anyway. It’s huge!

“Yes, yes, now be quiet,” the teacher says.

“Ah, okay…” Yusha said.

I’m mad at her~! Showing me a face like that! So cute…

“Today’s exercise is target practice. I’ve prepared one target for each party, so hit it with your favorite magic. The target will detect the power and change color accordingly, so please watch out for it. Now then, begin!

Hmm… from Most to least Powerful, the colors are Purple, Blue, Red, Yellow, White, and Black.

“Who’s going first?” I ask. “Starting from me?”

“No. I’m going first!” Shilde says as she steps forward and cracks her knuckles.

Is she that confident!

“Let’s go! Fire!”

Shiro used the lower magic “Fire”. It’s the most basic spell of the basic magics.

Target changes from black to white. 2 out of 6 levels. Still a long way off.

“H-Hmph!” Shilde says. “I’m not that good at offense!”

“I-I’m not good at offense either, so I’ll go next…” Hira says as she volunteers herself and steps forward.

I see what she means; she looks frail and without an “aggressive” bone in her body…

“Fa—Fire!”

A weaker flame than Shilde’s hits the target. It’s gray. Not even white.

Hira sighs, deflates, and turns even smaller than she already was.

“It’s alright, Shilde, Hira!” Yusha says. “The Hero’s Party isn’t just about offense!”

“Yusha…” Shilde and Hira say, their cheeks turning red.

I squeal…! This natural empathy… I’ll have to surpass these girls right away!

“I-I’m next!” I say. “Here I go!”

Yusha cheers. “Good luck, Lily!”

On a related note… as far as I can see glancing around, most of the other parties have only gotten White. Does Yellow already seem to be a reason for applause? Then I’ll just aim for Yellow.

“Incinerate!”1

Spiraling flames hit the target! The impact turns it Blue! Uh oh! Did I mess up?! I thought it was fine because it was medium-level magic!

“Wow! That’s so incredible!” Yusha says, beaming. “Are you a magical genius, Lily?”

“N-No, that’s not true!” I stammer. “I just happen to be good at offensive magic…”

I’ve just used Human Magic. If I’d used the Demon Magic I’m used to—for example, if I’d used “Flama”2–that target would definitely be purple… I suppose it’s only natural as I’m the Demon King’s daughter.

“Right, looks like I’m the last one!” Yusha says as she sashays up.

What kind of magic will she use?

“Hey!” Shilde yells. “Lily, get down! You’ll get hurt!”

“Huh?”

“’Sacred Javelin’!’

Suddenly, Yusha’s body glows with a white aura, a glowing white object fires out from her and makes an insane explosion on impact. It was a direct hit and the target is blown to bits, it couldn’t take it. All that’s left is Purple debris scattered all around.

“Huh?” Yusha says. “Did I mess up?”

“Hey…! What are you doing?! What were you thinking?” the teacher says as she storms up to Yusha, looking like a Demon herself.

“I’m sorry!” Yusha cries. “I didn’t mean to break it…”

Behind Yusha apologizing to the teacher, I take the chance to ask Shilde!

“W-what was that?!” I sputter. “Just now…”

“Didn’t you know?” Shilde replies. “Yusha is the daughter of that Legendary Hero? She seems to have inherited that talent. There’s no way you didn’t have a clue till now.”

A Legendary Hero’s…. daughter… eh…!? The Hero that the Demon King hunted down and was so afraid of facing another like her that I was moved here last minute, in other words, the entire reason I’m here. That girl… is Yusha?!

“I’m sorry, everyone,” Yusha says. “Because the target is busted, our party’s not getting a second round of shots~”

Such a gentle girl… is the daughter of a Legendary Hero…

“Did I do something wrong, Lily?” Yusha asked.

“No, nothing!” I reply. “I was just surprised!”

To think I’d meet her like this. From now on, I… what will happen?


  1. “バーニング”. (“Burning”) I used “Incinerate!” as it sounds nicer.
  2. Latin for “Flame”. Credit to Yurota for pointing it out.

5 thoughts on “The Demon King’s Daughter in Yuri Heaven (EP 7): First Half of Training (1)

  1. I think this word [ フランマ ] is Flama (fu-ra-n-ma) which is a combination of flame and plasma.It’s just my wild guess. Don’t let it concern you much.

    About this word [ バーニング ], because Japanese always thought that English is cool so they might just throw any English word in. So it doesn’t matter what word you use, as long as you can make it cool in English reader pov is good. Therefore, I think your suggestion is great. Let’s use “Incinerate”.

    Like

    1. Thank for the assistance, I hadn’t thought of a transliterated English portmanteau. Come tomorrow, I might decide to localize them as “Plasma Torch” or “Plasma Blast” and change “Burning” to “Incinerate”.

      Like

    2. About the word [ フランマ ], I would like to correct my mistake. This word is actually a Latin word. And here is how you should understand about this word:

      [ Flamma ]
      + It is the origin of the word flame we use now a day.
      + It is noun
      + It is female
      + Because it female, you can understand it as a fire of love.
      + It can be translate as fire or blaze

      And here is my suggestion for this translation:
      + Keep it as it be, because the origin work use it as Latin, so it already seem very cool for both Ja and En readers. Another reason to keep it as it is because the historic purpose. The writer may want to make demon as an ancient race. Therefore he/she use Latin. If we insistingly translate it, we may kill the writer’s main purpose.
      + Add a note in the footer to help reader understand what flamma is. Even though it’s ok if they don’t. Who care anyway?

      Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started