The Pseudo-Ninja from Another World (EP 22): The Servant School Experience (1)

“Al-right!” I said. “Everyone, please announce the results of your leveling up.”

It was a day after Operation ‘Power Level II’ and all five of us were gathered in the living room of the Kagura House. Walter was the first to go, as he was our top batter. “Right,” he said, “I’m now level 12, my skill slots have increased to 2, and I’ve learned 2 skills.

“But why these? I wanted to learn combat skills.”

“What are you talking about?” I asked. “You’re steadily gaining the skills you need as the head butler of the Kagura family. That’s our Walter.”

“I-Is that right?” Walter asked before he chuckled.

It is. Novice Furniture Handling would be useful for finding treasures in dungeons thanks to his newly developed senses of architectural design and spatial awareness, and the lock-related skills from Novice Mansion Security will help him open the chests they’re in.

… These skills seem to be more fitting for a thief than a butler. Ah well, at least we now always have someone else who’ll be able to safely open treasure chests.

“I’ll go next!” Laurina hums. “I’m now level 12, my skill slots are up by one, and I’ve learned two new skills.”

Laurina chuckled. “Now, I can make friends beforehand with Novice Beast Training and use Summon Small Animals in dungeons anytime!” she hummed.

“Right, because Summon Small Animals only works with creatures that are already in the vicinity…” I said. “So now you can have animals with you at all times, right?”

A permanent companion is a pretty big step-up from just calling on some temporary reinforcements.

“And your learning Double Whip Strike is also good. Since you’ve got a lot of MP, so just use that instead of regular attacks.”

“I can do that?” Laurina asked.

Are higher-level tamers suited for more avant-garde jobs? I have to wonder…

“Me last…” Mavin mumbles as she opens her guild card’s skill column.

I read it. “You’re also level 12 now and up to two 2 slots. Plant Heal, Branch Javelin… single-target healing and single-target attack magic. Both seem to be very effective novice skills, but your needing to be near plants to use them might become a problem.”

Mavin hums. “Seems powerful ‘cause of that, right?”

And that’s all the kids. Now… “It’s my turn.”

Everyone looks surprised.

“Huh…?” Walter goes. “Ms. Shino, you didn’t you level up from these quests, right?”

“I did not. However, I did acquire a unique skill thanks to some special conditions.”

“Ehh?! What did you get?”

“Well… it’s better if I show you,” I say you as I lay my card out on a table.

“Eh?” Walter said. “What are Dragon Spirit Skills?”

“I haven’t heard of it,” Laurina hums.

“… Yep,” Mavin nods.

“… Lady Shino’s blindsided us again…” Nellie mutters. “Is it something inherent to the Ninja class?”

… It seems like no one’s ever heard of something like this. Well, I suppose that shouldn’t be too surprising since this came from Sengoku Online’s relaunch patch and not from within this world.

“It seems to be a skill that lets me create new ones by combining and evolving the ones I already have,” I explained.

“… That’s incredible,” Walter said.

“As expected of Lady Shino,” Nellie said.

“This is also why I’m going to go off to experiment with it in the Garden Dungeon,” I said. “I’m giving everyone a week off, so feel free to spend it as you like.”

“Huh, you’re taking a vacation?” Walter asked.

“Yes, and as a bonus I’m giving you 20 silver coins and 30 for Nellie, so please feel free to go out shopping!” I hummed.

“Oh, you’re so generous Ms. Shino!” Walter said.

“Shopping!” Laurina and Mavin sang.

The three of them seem pretty pleased at the prospect of a paid vacation, but why doesn’t Nellie look happy about all this?

“… Lady Shino, aren’t you taking me with you?” she asked.

“What are you talking about?” I hum. “Nellie, you’ve been working so hard since you met me, yes? It’ll be good for you to take a break every once in a while.”

“But, if there’s another threat like the greater demon…”

“It’ll be safe because I have the Dungeon Master’s ring,” I said. “Besides, I’m fine being by myself.”

“… Understood.”

… Oh? Why does Nellie look so sad…? I wonder what’s wrong?


Nellie’s POV

As expected of Lady Shino: she’s gained a new power. Walter and the girls are also getting more and more powerful… and here I am without any growth to show for all our trouble.

I certain that’s why Lady Shino refused to let me accompany her. Perhaps there’s no more room for me to grow… it might be a good time to take this break. But if an opportunity comes to improve my skills and be of more help to Lady Shino…

“Excuse me, is this the Kagura residence?”

It seems we have a guest. I opened the sliding door and found a delivery person in their blue uniform. “Yes, this is the Kagura residence,” I said.

“Oh, what a relief… there’s finally someone in today… well, delivery for you.”

“Thank you very much,” I say as I receive it: a letter. I checked the envelope and started reading. “What the… ‘To the servants of Ms. Kagura? It’s addressing us, not Lady Shino?” I flipped it over and found this:

“Become a top-class servant!”

Butler and Maid Vocational School Free Trial Enrollment

… This is it. A way to serve aside from combat. Aren’t the duties of a maid the maintenance of the mansion and the care of its owner? Yet, all my skills are for combat…

This is an opportunity from the heavens! Although it’s just a trial enrollment it’s still a vocational school specifically for maids!

Lady Shino! I swear I’ll come back as a top maid!

{If someone had been looking at Nellie then, they may have seen a burning flame raging behind her or perhaps the raging waves of the Sea of Japan.}

7 thoughts on “The Pseudo-Ninja from Another World (EP 22): The Servant School Experience (1)

  1. Naturally, Nellie will fail to report her activities to Shino, going into it without a hint of awareness, and something bad will happen to her. Not sure whether it will be a ransom, kidnapping by a cult or someone trying to find out Shino’s weakness, but it’s almost guaranteed based on the way this occurred.

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started