The Pseudo-Kunoichi from Another World (Part 13): The Garden Dungeon (2)

It’s been ten days since I discovered the mysterious dungeon portal on my land. I decided to explore it to secure my property, but the problem is, no one knew a thing about it. And when I reported it to the guild, there was a huge argument over what to do, exactly.

The pro was that a large number of adventures might come flocking in and cause a huge boom in the local economy. The con was that the entrance was well within the city, and if we dive into it, the safety of citizens nearby couldn’t be assured. With all that in mind, I decided that I and a handful of others would start mapping out the dungeon and taking the risks associated with it.

It was my property, after all.

I should mention I originally put this up as a normal quest, with myself as the client. The guild assessed it as a C-rank, but I had doubts if it was that level. All of the monsters that had been wandering around my property were all low rank, they reasoned, but I wanted to take no risks and ended up declaring, “I’ll be the client and hand out the rewards myself.”

Back in the game, I wouldn’t even enter a dungeon without the strongest gear possible available at the time.

Posting a special quest wasn’t much of an issue as I had plenty of money for the rewards. The Commerce and Industry had already begun reselling my [Rescue Water Spiders] to great success, with 90 gold coins as my cut of the profit. I paid the deposit, and soon a B-rank quest appeared at the board:

 “B-Rank Garden Dungeon Exploration”

 The entrance to a dungeon was discovered on the land of a former noble within the city.

 The new owner wishes to build a new mansion atop it but wishes to remove the threat of the dungeon first.

 The task is to map out the deepest sections of the dungeon or eliminate the threat.

 Mapping will pay out 5 gold coins per head, threat elimination will pay out 8 per head.

 The client has already secured 2 personnel, 2 B-rank or higher adventurers are requested for additional support.

This would ensure we had back-up but I wanted to improve my strength. Specifically, I decided to create a new weapon for Nellie and borrowed Port’s forge to do so.

“… Is that a ladle?” Port asked. “One you’d use for soup?”

“It’s a ladle,” I replied.

For physical attacks, her [Shinoichi-style Yamagi Knife] was more than enough, but I thought of enemies that were vulnerable to magic and thought of making a magic staff. As Nellie has [Household Tool Mastery], I thought imbuing a kitchen utensil with staff-like qualities would be best.

Fortunately, Sengoku Online had a lot of variety in their weapons, so I could also make a [Harisen] (“Giant Paper Fan”) and a [Neighbour’s Rice Scoop].

For materials, I’m using Hihirokane (“Spirit Metal”) and [White Charcoal] which are loaded with magic. As Nellie wasn’t that high level yet, I couldn’t use the best materials.

“Oooh, those materials look very expensive again…” Nellie moans.

I will spare no money in my investments. If it’s Nellie’s weapon, I will cut no corners.

“Right, [Light Weapon Crafting],” I said.

As I hit the molten metal with my [Devil’s Hammer], it eventually became a solid ball, 50 centimeters in size. Tempering should be done… two times. Well, since it’s a magic weapon, after all, it should be fine to have a lower base attack, right?

To imbue it with magic I’ll use a [Ruby], a fire catalyst that would also grant the weapon [Fire Ball]. I’d made sure to get a quality one in advance, about 2 centimeters in size.

“Lady Shino…” Nellie muttered as I took it out of my inventory, “no way…”

“Oh, I’ll just be using this for the enchantment,” I said.

“… How much did this cost, if I may ask?”

“Hmm… 3 gold coins?” I said.

Ah, Nellie’s going pale again.

“Walter, get Nellie some water,” I said.

“It can’t be helped,” Walter said as he did. “Come on, Big Sis Nellie, don’t be so uptight about it.”

“Uhh… three gold coins…” Nellie moans.

(I got Walter and the others another room at the same inn we were staying at until I built my new home. It seemed that they’ve all been getting along well for the past few days.)

With Nellie out of it, it fell to Walter to assist me with the last step. “Walter, hand me the ruby,” I said. He does and the gem begins to shine crimson. Now, to pour all that energy into the ladle and…

“Finished! I dub thee the [Shinonishiki-type Fire Ladle]!”1

Just like the Shinoichi-type,2 the kanji for “Shino” burns itself into the weapon. I attached a cypress handle to it and gave it to Nellie, who hadn’t recovered just yet.

『Shinonishiki-type Flame Ladle]

 Level limit 20 and above

 Race limitation Only cat-type beasts

 Class restrictions Maid only

 Attack Power 25

 Magic Attack 82

 30% less magic power consumption

 Stat bonus INT + 1

 Skill [Fire Ball] Available

 Special ability [Fire Magic MP -]

“Is… is this a powerful effect…?” Nellie asked.

“Hmm, not that powerful,” I said. “It’s only about 30% less mana cost and you can throw fire balls now.”

“These incredible stats… why a ladle?” Nellie asked.

“Well, I thought it would be best since you have [Household Tools Mastery] and [Magic Tool +]…”

“Lady Shino…” Nellie says, tearing up. “After all that you’ve done for me…”

She’s so cute. I want to tease her so badly.

“Hehe, you can thank me in bed tonight…” I say as I lift her head and give her a quick kiss.

“La-La-La-Lady Shino…” Nellie stammers. “There are kids present!”

“’Thank you in bed’…?” Walter asks, confused. “Should I start doing that too?”

“Mavin, did Big Bro Walt really say that?” Laurina teases.

“Yeah, he seemed totally serious, too,” Mavin continues.

It seems the girls are much more mature than him in that respect. I hope they’d cut the now flustered Walter some slack.

Back to the impending dungeon crawl: Nellie doesn’t have enough slots to fit four skills at once, so I took my [Warding Medicine Box] off. “Here, Nellie, try this out, too,” I said an I gave it to her.

“This is…?” Nellie asked.

“A [Warding Medicine Box], it will give you extra skill slots,”

“… To think that such a thing exists…” Nellie muttered. “Ah, but what about you, Lady Shino?”

“It’s okay, I have a duplicate,” I said.

“A-Ah…” Nellie said. “Thank you very much.”

It was a limited event item with only 1 per character, but I had 4/4 slots anyway. With the remaining three, I could give one to Nellie no problem. The only issue now was that Nellie now had 5 slots and only 4 Luminous Maid skills.

“Hmm… one slot left, but what to put in it…” I muttered.

“I think can add [Stone Skin], the defense skill I learned when I was just a slave if you’ll allow it.”

“Perfect, try setting it,” I said.

“Right away.”

[Stone Skin] [Novice Light Magic] [Item Effect +] [Magic Item +]

“Incredible…” Nellie said. “I have five skills at once…”

“It’s perfect, don’t you think?” I asked.

Yep, Nellie was geared the best she could be at the moment.

“Amazing…” Walter said. “And here we were forced to squat on some noble’s land… you’re so wealthy, Ms. Shino. Anyway…

“Walter, if you wish to serve Lady Shino, then wait for Lady Shino to ask you, alright?” Nellie said.

“Ah-uh, I understand, Big Sis Nellie!” Walter sputtered. “Well, you see, Ms. Shino… agh, this is so awkward!”

“Hehe, it’s alright,” I said. “I haven’t decided on Walter’s position yet, anyway. So, what did you want to ask?”

“I was wondering if you could lend me a weapon?” Walter said, his eyes shining. “For the dungeon dive? I’ll help you.”

“Hmm, this time I won’t allow it,” I said. “We don’t know how deep the dungeon goes and it’s too risky to defend you if things go wrong. For now, go register with the guild and measure your strength objectively. I’ll give you a chance to level up but I need you to wait for now.”

“Eh?” Walter asked. “You’re only taking Big Sis Nellie with you?”

“Walter, this is too dangerous to be fooling around like this,” Laurina said.

“It’s better if they don’t have to babysit you,” Mavin added.

“Ugh…” Walter mutters. “You guys have been so vicious lately.”

“Ahaha, now you see why you need to stay here this time?” I said as I pulled Walter’s head into my chest for being a good kid.

“Oh…” he muttered. “This is… not the fabled fluffiness!3 Hey, wait a minute! I’m not a kid, damn it!”

“Big Bro Walt, you’re not very convincing with your cheeks red and your nose bleeding like that…” Mavin muttered as she looks down at her chest.

“I suppose that’s something we just can’t provide…” Laurina mutters, looking enviously at mine. “But you’re being surprisingly eager about this, Big Bro Walt.”

No, my chest isn’t that large to attract envy.

“Yeah, you both have a little, but she’s just a force majeure compared to you two,” Port said.

“You’re such a pervert, Big Bro Walt!”

“Lewd.”

“Loudmoouu-uthh! Bastaa-ard! When this is all over, let’s just go straight home!”4


Two more days later I get a letter from the guild: someone’s taken take on my quest. I and Nellie decided to head there after lunch.

When we stepped through the doors, Michaela called out: “Ms. Shino! Here for the people taking on your quest?”

“I am, thanks for calling out,” I said. “Where are they?”

“Waiting at the dining hall, I’ll take you to them,” Michaela said as she slipped out from behind the counter. “Mr. Dan, Mr. Dean, I’ve brought your client,” she called out.

Two men sitting at a table with ale mugs stood up, Michaela led us to them. “This is Kagura Shino, an adventurer and the one who posted the quest,” she said.

“Dan Seeker, level 25, B-Rank Seeker,” said the black-haired, well-dressed man.

“Dean Paula,” said a handsome, honey-blond youth. “Level 22, B-rank Holy Knight.”

Assuming their roles are the thief and the tank, then our party composition is:

  • Myself as Main DPS,
  • Nellie as Healer, Off-DPS, and Mage,
  • Dan for dealing with traps, locks, and other security features of the dungeon, and
  • Dean as Off-Healer and the Tank.

Yep, seems well-balanced to me. We’ve got solid members, after all.5

“It’s a pleasure to meet you both,” I said. “I’m the client, Kagura Shino. This person is…”

“Nellie, I am Lady Shino’s maid,” Nellie said.

“P-Pleasure to meet you, too, Ms. Shino… um…!” Dean stammers, suddenly much louder.

“Yes?” I ask.

“There is a dungeon entrance on Ms. Shino’s land… this is unacceptable!” Dean yells. “But it’s alright! I’ll be sure… I’ll be certain to destroy all the monsters there! I will give you peace of mind. I will show you…” he grabs both my hands with his and plants kisses on the backs.

Woah, was this guy some kind of sleazy ikemen? (“cool guy”)6

“… My apologies, Ms. Shino,” Dan said, “it’s something of an illness he suffers from. I can assure you we’ll keep you safe, so I ask you to please bear with it for the moment… anyway, will it just be the two of us venturing with you?”

“Oh, I have a partner already.”

“Huh…?”

“It’s my Nellie, didn’t you notice?”

“… Pardon me, but are you joking?” Dan asked.

“She’s–” I started.

“Lady Shino, please leave this to me,” Nellie says as she steps in front of me. “Here is my guild card, with my stats displayed. Please have a look,” she says as she hands it to Dan.

“Ah… what is with these stats?” Dan mutters.

“What’s the matter, Dan?” Dean asks as he leans in over his shoulder.

“This can’t be right…” Dan mutters. “1105 MP at level 20 is more than double what a magician should have! How is this possible?!”

“Wha…?!”

Nellie serves up another whammy. “If you would please move to the next page, you may also review my skills.”

“Skills…? W-wait a minute, h-how do you have 5 skill slots?!” Dan shouts.

“5 at level 20?” Dean said. “This has got to be a joke, right?!”

“I should warn you my Lady Shino has even more impressive stats,” Nellie said. “You may end up dragging us down, not the other way around.”

“You’re going too far, Nellie,” I said. “My apologies, I am honestly looking forward to working with you both. We’re new to dungeon exploring and it’ll be very different from outdoor combat.”

Dan and Dean are silent. Ugh… I’m afraid the two of them will feel outclassed and quit.

“… I’ve heard certain rumours…” Dan started.

“What rumours, Dan?” I asked.

“That recently, there was a pair of very strong female merchants hunting monsters here and there in Port Sazan…” Dan said. “Haven’t you heard?”

“Oh yeah, there were rumours that one of them had defeated a sea dragon and that her name was ‘Kagura’,” Dean said, “but I’m sure it can’t be this Kagura… right?”

Seems they noticed my name during our introductions. However, since it was still mostly rumoured… I decided to keep a low-profile for the moment.

“… I’m afraid I haven’t heard,” I said as I slowly lifted my pointer finger to my lips.


  1. I just realized I should have been translating this as “Shino Mk. I Combat Knife”.
  2. Same as above, it should be “Shino Mk. II Flame Ladle”. I’ll be sticking with the current translations for sake of consistency. 
  3. It’s a joke about burying your face in a woman’s large breasts.
  4. I couldn’t tell who was shouting what at this scene, but I suppose that was the point.
  5. DPS (Damage-per-Second) deal damage. Healers are self-explanatory. Tanks are the ones who draw the attention and attacks of the enemies so the others can focus on their roles. An “Off” means you are either there as back-up for additional utility, like certain buffs or useful skills. Many MMO games like Sengoku Online rely on this “Holy Trinity”.
  6. Ikemen typically refers to handsome, confident men, frequently depicted as effortlessly charming ladies.
BACKNEXT

7 thoughts on “The Pseudo-Kunoichi from Another World (Part 13): The Garden Dungeon (2)

    1. Dungeons tend to be balanced around groups. Shino herself admits in the first chapter that if it weren’t for the hordes of monsters surrounding bosses, she COULD handle it by herself.

      Like

      1. wha-what kind of BOSS is she expecting from her first dungeon!?

        well, this novel is pretty short so…is it already time for the Demon King to appear? =p

        Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started