The Small-Town Girl Becomes the Demon King (EP 73 – Final): Why Levantine came free

“Ah, finally a moment of peace…” Merle said as she sat on her throne, yawning as she laid around in her pajamas.

Since the coming of the new era, Merle had been spending a lot of time alone with Lucille, otherwise known as the “newlywed life”. Lucille struggled to be like a young wife and is still out doing groceries by herself.

As Merle was left behind, she just waits for her new wife to come home on her throne without doing much of anything else.

“Levi, let’s talk about something,” Merle said.

What do you require of me?” Levantine said, planted beside Merle’s throne now that she no longer needed to wield him.

“Sorry for asking, why did you let me pull you out, Levi?”

Because you’re a woman, Merle.”

“That’s it?” Merle asked as she straightens up and looks at Levantine.

The previous Demon King told me not to come out for anyone other than a woman.”

“Was there any other woman than me trying to pull you out?”

Until you, only prideful men attempted it. It wasn’t the kind of atmosphere that a woman would want to join in.”

“Yeah, that didn’t seem like the kind of competition that women would want to join in,” Merle muttered as her half-lidded eyes wandered back to Levantine. “What would have happened if I didn’t pull you out, Levi?”

What do you think?”

“If I didn’t pull you out, I would have been self-hating like before,” Merle said.

She recalled the days before pulling Levantine out. After graduating from Magic School, she spent all her time in self-hatred, unemployed. Then she got plunged into this world with all that unfounded confidence and somehow managed to make it out fine.

By pulling out Levantine, Merle’s life changed dramatically.

I also wonder if someone other than you had pulled me out, as these peaceful days wouldn’t have come without you.”

“But because of that peace, you’re no longer being used, Levi,” Merle said, smiling.

I don’t hate it. I believe I played my part well.”

“You sure did. We wouldn’t have this new era without you, Levi.”

Don’t praise the tools, you’re making me feel awkward.”

Shortly after, a silence fell over the two of them. As if on cue, the throne room’s doors opened, Lucille came skipping in with a basket full of root crops and dried meat. “Merle, my darling ❤ I’ve got the groceries ❤ Do you want a meal? Do you want a bath? Or do you want me?”

“What do you think I’ll say? Let’s have a meal together, take a bath together, then sleep together.”

“As I thought! But I wanted to say it once <3”

The two start flirting like just reunited newlyweds. Lucille grabs Merle’s arm and quickly leads her out of the throne room. Surely they’ll eat together, take a bath together, and sleep together, as Merle said.

With Levantine left on the throne, he dreamed of the day he was drawn. Many men had tried their best to pull him out, but he refused as his previous owner had ordered him to. Then Merle appeared, a small-town girl you’d find anywhere.

Her body looked delicate and frail; at a glance, she looked unsuitable to be the Demon King.

But times were happier than with the ones before.

After so many years onto decades, they can re-enter the world. Looking at Merle, he was sure this new era was coming.

Merle, I’m glad you pulled me out.”

The words he couldn’t say disappeared into the empty throne room. From the other side, he could hear the laughter of the girl who couldn’t be called a “Demon King”.

19 thoughts on “The Small-Town Girl Becomes the Demon King (EP 73 – Final): Why Levantine came free

    1. It’s just an extended author’s note detailing the story’s creation and advertising their next work. 72 was the original ending but 73 is where I chose to end it, since it flows so well it doesn’t feel like a “bonus” epilogue.

      Liked by 2 people

  1. Thanks for the translation, it was a surprisingly good read for something I decided to try reading the first chapter of randomly today. As you can see I binged it till here, the end. Good stuff

    Like

  2. well that’s it everyone the good ooh happy ending for both of them…generally speaking, this IMO is 8,3/10, thank you so much for the bombs of chapters, and yah that’s it

    Like

  3. I don’t know if there are skipped chapters like 51-55 and 60-65 if i remember right but it felt like the events were complete when i was reading lmao…
    Thank you so much for fast translation… i look forward to coming projects… please translate more yuri!

    Like

  4. Man, what a nice ending. I binged the whole thing from start to finish. I really enjoyed it.
    I wonder what happened to Dorothy though, did they find her and stop her? Last she was mentioned she seemed to still be going on a murder spree with serrated weapons. It’d be nice to see her repent and her madness cured.

    Like

    1. It’s implied she and Hawkins both escaped, as he’s still forging new dragon scale weapons and she’s still rampaging. It seems like this is the end of Merle’s story, though, the author hasn’t made a sequel nor do they need to.

      Like

  5. It’s a bit unfortunate that what happens with Dorothy from here on out is open ended, but I’m glad that our MC got a sweet happy end at least 🙂

    Like

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started