The Communication Hero with the Cool Heroine (EP 11): Is it cheating to create my own magic?

“Well then, I’ve explained the ins-and-outs of Haru’s job, but is there anything else you would like to ask me?” Lilia asked.

I shook my head.

Sonia thought for a moment before she shook her head as well.

“In that case, our business is concluded,” Lilia said. “Oh, yes: it’s getting late out, so please stay here for the night. And we’ve got exactly two free rooms as well!”

I looked out the window and noticed the sun was already setting, the city was bathed in a warm orange glow.

“See you then, we’ll turn in for the night,” Sonia says as she stands up.

“Ah, the bath is at the end of the hall, you may use it any time you like,” Lilia said.

“… Bath?” I said before I decided not to ask why a library was equipped with a bath.

“I’ll accompany the both of you to the rooms,” Lilia said as she stood up as well.

I put my teacup down on the table and hurried on after them down a long, long hall before we stopped in front of a door. “This is the first free room, next door is the second,” Lilia said. “So, who will be using which?”

“I’ll let Sonia decide,” I said.

“In that case, I’ll use the second room, and Haru can use the first,” Sonia said.

I beamed. I was secretly relieved I didn’t have to make the choice myself.

“I’ll be heading back to the manager’s office,” Lilia said as she headed back the way we came. “Feel free to stop by if you have any questions.”

I opened the door to my room for the night. There was only an armchair and a single bed that was a lot smaller than the one back at the inn for furnishing.

“It looks so nice…” I muttered. I wondered why it was so clean for a free room—did they have custodial staff here? 

“Oh, what am I standing around here for?” I muttered as I lay down on the fluffy bed and reflect.

It’s only been two days since I’ve arrived in this world, but so much has happened in that short time. I’ve been hired as Sonia’s fake girlfriend, I was chased down after I registered as an adventurer, I used magic for the first time and discovered my cheat ability, I was kidnapped by a suspicious person…

… I wondered how it was even remotely possible for most of that to have happened in the span of a day and a few hours. I was more exhausted than I’d ever been in my two lives.

“Still…”

It was much more fun than when I was alone in my room, playing online games. Yes, monster blood made me feel sick and I was terrified at the sight of my first human corpses. But no matter how bad things got, Sonia was always by my side, her kindness squashed my fear.

“I’m sure with Sonia…”

… I could overcome anything. But then I suddenly realized something important: am I too dependent on her?

She’s been helping and saving me since I came to this world. And in contrast, I haven’t done a thing for her. If Sonia disappears, I’ll surely die; she’s the biggest reason I’m still alive right now.

“An uneven relationship with one party giving and the other party taking does not last very long,” I suddenly remembered from an online article I’d stumbled upon.

“Then… aren’t I in serious danger?!” I yelled.

No Sonia = My Death. I needed to halt my dependence on Sonia—but I didn’t know how to do that. Do I even have it in me? No, a better solution would be…

“Oh… that’s right.”

Can’t I also be someone that Sonia can rely on? In my experiences so far, Sonia is a front-line fighter like warriors, martial artists, and so on. And with myself as a support mage, I had plenty of opportunities to help her.

“Then the one thing I have to do is…”

Practice the creation and use of support magic so I can help Sonia. I’ll start with the former, specifically, buffs that increase offensive power, speed, and defensive capability. They are stock spells, after all.

Haste!” I cry. A magic circle appears in my hand, I press it into my chest and my body glows faintly.

“Haste” is an English word that also means “speed”. It’s one of the standard buffs of online games and this was one of its most common names. My body suddenly felt very light, so it seemed to have worked; I jumped out of bed to test how well.

I started running in place at incredible speed, feeling no exertion at all. “A-Amazing…!” I said–it was as if I’d been given an entirely new body!

Alright, let’s create some more buffs! I was so excited I was able to make a spell for the first time (I think?). Next:

“Build Up! … Huh?”

I intended to make strength-enhancing magic, but nothing happened; it seems there is no spell called “Build Up” here. In that case, I should try…

Reinforce!”

Just like before, a magic circle appeared in my right hand, my body glowed faintly as I pressed it into my chest. “Reinforce” means “strengthen”. Just how much more has my body been powered up? I looked around the room and tried lifting the bed.

“Up, up, and away—huh?!”

I was holding the bed up a good few inches off the floor, though I needed to use two hands—as expected for someone with all E physical stats. But if Sonia were to get this buff, I’m certain she could lift a house without breaking a sweat.

“Right!” I cried. “Time to take some more while I’m in the groove!”

I started to take this as far I as I could.


“So she’s her party member~…” I hummed to myself.

Sonia has always preferred working alone. She never even talked to my other disciples, honed that blade by her lonesome. And now, that girl was her party member.

“Perhaps it was love at first sight?”

No, no, they’re both girls, and Sonia’s eyes as she talked about her seemed more like she was protecting her than she was in love with her… wait, has she developed maternal instincts?!

“That girl, she’s always been so hard to read, hasn’t she~?” I said, smiling.

Well, whatever the case, it’s fortunate we’re allies. Haru will be very useful in a battle with her job and it’s a perfect compliment to Sonia’s own. “Oh, I hope Haru can join us tonight~!”

However, Sonia definitely won’t allow it so as always, we’ll be using brute force. “My, how troublesome~…”

3 thoughts on “The Communication Hero with the Cool Heroine (EP 11): Is it cheating to create my own magic?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started