The Communication Hero with the Cool Heroine (EP 9): Another world inside another world

I looked behind me and saw Sonia standing in the doorway. The shaking subsides. I feel safe.

“I’m going to save you now,” Sonia said as she held a suspicious man in her hand. She tossed him back into the street then headed into the building.

Suddenly, I feel a cold, sharp object pressed against my neck—the woman was putting a knife to me. 

“What about the girl?” she hisses.

Sonia stops and looks me in the eye, I feel a surge of confidence, know she’s wordlessly saying, “Everything’s going to be fine, don’t worry.”. I smiled as a discreet signal.

“T-That’s right, you just stay there,” the woman said as she began to drag me back into the cell. “Move and I’ll kill her.”

The woman looked at the doorknob. 

Sonia dashed up to my side. 

The knife and the woman both fall to the ground afterward.

“This will all be over soon,” Sonia said as she untied me and removed my gag.

“… I’m sorry,” I whispered, “if I hadn’t been distracted by that storefront, none of this would have happened…”

“It’s alright,” Sonia said. “I was able to rescue you, and it’s my fault, too, for taking my eyes off you.” She gently took my right hand and said, “Now come on, let’s head to the Grand Library.”

“Okay,” I said, blushing. It felt embarrassing to be holding hands like this but I didn’t want to risk getting separated a second time.

Back at the main street, there were horses around the suspicious building we just left behind, a crowd was already forming. Their gazes lock on us as we walk, I feel uneasy with so many eyes on me.

“The guards are coming soon,” Sonia said, holding my hand and ignoring the onlookers. “Let’s hurry.”

We walk past the horses, Sonia looking incredibly cool as usual, and soon we return to where we were separated. “Is there anything wrong with the police force, Sonia?” I asked.

It had been on my mind for a while now. Back in online games, the city guards were stalwart defenders of justice, cracking down on criminals and tossing them into prison. There shouldn’t have been a reason for us to fear the police. Then a possibility came to mind:

Sonia was a wanted criminal.

… Then I realized how unlikely that was and tossed it out.

“I’m a wanted criminal,” Sonia said, smiling.

And now it seems my suspicion was right. But Sonia was so kind—I’m sure there was something more to the story of her criminal charges. Despite all the crowds of people around us, I yelled, “I don’t want to leave our party even if you are a wanted criminal, I’ll always follow you!” 

Sonia laughed and said, “It was a joke.”

My face burns red instantly. Of course, if I’d thought about it for a moment, I would have realized that if she was a wanted criminal, she wouldn’t have been out and about in public in these crowded streets. I’m such an idiot! I just want to crawl into the nearest hole…

“Sorry, Haru,” Sonia said, patting my head, “I wanted to mess with you a little. But, I appreciate the thought all the same. We’ll get to the Grand Library soon, I’ll tell you the real reason there.”

I felt my face turn even redder. We continue on our way, and eventually, we found ourselves in front of a gigantic building, spreading out along the street than rising into the air. Is this about the size of a Japanese high school? Whatever the case, it’s big and the facade looks like a city hall.

“Alright, we’re here!” Sonia said.

“S-So this is the Grand Library…” I mutter.

“I have some business that needs doing inside,” Sonia said as she pointed to a door.

It had a sign with a red, open palm—even if I couldn’t read the characters of this world, it’s easy enough to recognize a “No Entry” sign.

“I don’t think we should go in that way…” I mutter.

“Oh, it’ll be fine,” Sonia said as she confidently opened the door. “I’ve used this plenty of times and I have an acquaintance who works here.”

“I-I see…” I say.

I frantically look around as Sonia enters, but no passersby even bother looking at us. It seems I was the only one worried about breaking the rules, so I patted my chest and hurried in after Sonia.

Soon, I stop and stare at the sight before me. “A-Amazing…” I mutter.

The interior was like a different world. Well, I am in another world, but this was like another world inside that other world. If you wanted a comparison, it was like the library from that international blockbuster “Harry Batter”. The antique wooden bookshelves and the thick, ancient books give off a mysterious aura, and the magic light stones bathe everything in soft, warm light.

It would have been perfect if the books or the ladders could freely float in the air.

“Like what you see?” Sonia asks from beside me.

“Yes…” I mutter, “it’s very beautiful.”

“Glad to hear it,” Sonia says.

For a good ten seconds, all I could do was stare at this fantastic world. We set down a long hall after, I ask Sonia, “I take it you’re not here to read books?”

“Nope, I’m here to see that acquaintance I mentioned earlier,” she replied.

She probably means the library’s manager, since we stopped our special training and went out of our way to see her. I’m sure they must be a wonderful person, I’m very eager to meet them.

Sonia stops in front of a door. “She’s inside this room, but don’t worry, she’s not a scary person,” she said.

The reassurance isn’t enough for me, my face probably looks a little uneasy. Sonia knocks, I swallow the lump in my throat.

After some time, it opens. “Please make it quick…” a woman says before she pauses. “Ah, clients. Welcome.”

She’s got blue hair and a lab coat that looks out of place for a library worker, but her gentle aura is similar to Sonia.

“I-I’m Haruka Nanase!” I yelled, nervous. (It wasn’t ideal, but it was better than silence; I seem to be unaffected by my communication struggles for the moment.)

“My name is Lilia, it’s a pleasure to meet you,” Lilia says. “Please, let’s talk inside. You as well, Sonia.”

“Let’s,” Sonia says.

We enter a somewhat large room. There are two sofas and a table and a desk for paperwork. The floor is littered with documents and books. With Lilia’s lab coat, it feels like some old scientist’s room. “Please sit down here, I’ll go make us some tea,” she said as she gestured to one of the sofas.

We obeyed and soon Lilia was setting down three cups and a pot of black tea on the table between us. With a grin and a gleam in her eyes, she said:

“Now then, let’s talk.”

One thought on “The Communication Hero with the Cool Heroine (EP 9): Another world inside another world

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started