Yuri Flags with the Heroine (Episode 8): Reunion with Eugenie

11th year since Reincarnation.

I’ve turned 16 and it has been an eventful year beside.

First, Mother died of an illness last year. We continued to have our disagreements about my life, but she still took it with grace and compassion. Ever since I regained my previous life’s memories, my not being her real daughter bothered me, but I think I believe our relationship was good all the same.

Second, after five years of training with the Royal Knights from age 13 to 18, Randolph has returned to the Arch region.

Third, Aaron stayed behind with the Royal Guard. Out of gratitude to myself and Randolph, Aaron tried to return to Arch and join our Knights, but he was persuaded to stay because of his achievements and they weren’t about to let go such a talented young knight any time soon, either. My plan to keep him out of the way in the Knights of Arch went awry, but I didn’t mind.

Now, he’s asking his mother to join him at the royal capital, and is active as a young knight. Still, he keeps us in his thoughts; from time to time, he sends us letters and without fail, they were always full of gratitude to myself and Randolph.


“Fuu …” I sigh.

“Rosalin, I’ve been hearing a lot of sighs from you these days,” Randolph says.

“Big Brother…”

Randolph is now in full control of our House. Father had been contemplating stepping down from his duties because he had been sick two years ago. And ever since Mother died, he’s become quite a bit older, the white hairs on his head growing more and more obvious.

“I’m just so frustrated that I can’t go out much these days,” I said.

I and Randolph continue to train, but recently I’ve been busy with my noble duties. I can’t go out hunting for fun. I sigh again as I look out of the window during a break from the work earlier this morning. “Yes, of course I understand the importance of all our work,” I said. “But living indoors for a long time just doesn’t suit me.”

“I beg to differ, Rosalin,” Randolph said. “You should be more mature and get used to your administrative duties, especially because your engagement with Prince Glenn has already been decided.”

“… Yes, I know,” I muttered.

Last year, my engagement with the prince was decided. Regardless of my opinions on the matter, talks were held between House Stanley and the royal family of Amelia. Randolph objected in my stead, but due to his weak influence, it was decided that I would marry Prince Glenn once I turned 18.

“Does your engagement sadden you, Rosalin?” Randolph asked.

“I know I shouldn’t say it out loud, but I really don’t want to be with Prince Glenn,” I said. (Since the maids were dismissed during our break, I could speak candidly.) “When I was eight years old, I met Prince Glenn for the first time, and had the opportunity to meet him several times after…”

Our first impression is the worst, but as we interacted more and got to know each other—there was nothing. No chemistry whatsoever. Really, the more I got to know him, the more I felt my initial repulsion were justified.

The original Rosalind was so taken with him, but I just can’t like Prince Glenn’s cold eyes.

“Honestly, a woman like you who isn’t chomping at the bit to marry a prince is the ideal candidate,” Randolph said.

“Do you really think so?” I said. Will either of us be happy if I marry Prince Glenn?”

“… No, it will be a difficult union,” Randolph admitted. “You’re by far the most independent of the noble ladies. The royal family has less freedom than we do. If the wife of the second prince is to win the hearts of the people, you’ll have to be the ideal wife: chaste, modest, and always happily snuggling up to her husband’s arm—

“–I don’t think you could live that sort of life. “

“And you’d be right,” I said.

Depending on who you ask, I’m being rude and ungrateful, but I stand firm, because, that way of life was nothing but a facade whether it was to the public or our families.

“Don’t be so depressed,” Randolph said. “Take a ride out in the woods; your horse may be feeling as cooped-up as you after all this time.”

“But–” I started.

“Don’t worry about the paperwork,” Randolph said. “Thanks to your help, it’s pretty much done. I’ll be alright, Rosalin.”

“Thank you, Randolph,” I said.

After the engagement was decided, Randolph has been caring for me more than ever.

I changed to my riding clothes, went to the stables and mounted Neptune, my horse. “Let’s ride, Neptune!” I cried.

We headed off into the forest by our territory, just the two of us. The monsters at this time of year are inactive, but I bring my armor and weapons just in case.

“Hmm?”

As I proceeded deeper into the forest, I heard unfamiliar sounds… a human singing. In a place like this? I felt suspicious and lead Neptune to the source. My heart began to beat faster the closer I got—not from sensing danger, but quite the opposite.

“…!”

I came out into a clearing then gasped: a dreamlike beauty stood before me. (Cu-Cute…!) Her eyes were closed, her hands clasped in front of her as she sang. Her chestnut hair was tied in two parts behind her hairs, her porcelain-smooth skin was shining in the light. With just this glance, I understood who she was.

(It’s an angel, an angel has come down from Heaven…!)

Eugenie. Eugenie Carroll, the heroine of “Rose of the Battlefield”, without a doubt.

Eugenie stopped singing. “… Is someone there?” she asked as she looked up.

Our eyes met. There was no such encounter like this in the game. Originally, Eugenie got lost while walking through the forest, and was discovered by a man who was walking around the area. It was only after that I was supposed to meet me, Rosalind.

“Ah…” Eugenie gasped.

“You…” I said, “This is forest is property of House Stanley. What on earth are you doing here?”

A memory flashed in my mind like lightning. As a child, I met Eugenie in this forest. I remember having a conversation just like this then.

Eugenie is frightened as she looks at me, holds her hands back in front of her chest. “I’m sorry!” she cried. “I just moved to Rose Village the other day! I got lost when I was taking a walk and found myself here before I knew it. I had no idea this land is owned by House Stanley… “

“Oh, is that right?” I ask sarcastically. “It seemed like you were relaxed enough to sing just now.”

“Because it’s a such a beautiful place, I forgot I was lost for a moment and the words just came to me.”

“You’re quite the strange one,” I say, before I giggled.

Eugenie looked relieved. “Excuse me, are you Lady Rosalind?”

“And why would you think I am?” I ask.

“Because your family is famous in the village of Rose,” she said. “Marquis Stanley has wonderful children, Randolph and Rosalind. I heard that Rosalind is a beautiful, intelligent, and brave lady. The stories of you riding on a white horse like a war maiden straight from myth—you’re exactly as they say! “

“Ba-bah…! It seems like there’s strange rumours going around about me!” I say.

I get praised like that everyday, but for some reason, hearing it from Eugenie just threw me for a loop. I turn away from her, realized my face was blushing red… I’m acting like a stock tsundere! “Yes, I’m Rosalind Stanley… and you are?”

“I’m Eugenie Carroll, Lady Rosalind,” Eugenie says.

“Don’t be so formal, you may drop the ‘Lady’ from my name,” I said. “So you’re lost? You said you moved to Rose Village, right? I can help guide you there.”

“Please don’t trouble yourself, Lady Rosalind!” Eugenie cried.

“It’s much better than someone becoming victim to the monsters in my family’s forest,” I said. “Can you ride a horse?”

“No,” Eugenie said.

“In that case, let’s walk.”

“Th-Thank you very much…”

I dismounted, grasped the reins, and took the lead as we walked. Eugenie followed after me at a brisk pace. “Did you move to Rose Village with your family?”

“No,” Eugenie said. “… My parents died at my previous village, so now I’ve come to live with my uncle in Rose Village.”

“I see.”

Does that mean that the game’s events will begin soon? No, my heart is pounding. Can I even avoid my destruction end anymore? I glance at Eugenie by my side. Oblivious to my distress, she just returned a carefree smile.

Oh, she’s so cute, too cute…! As expected of the heroine of an Otome Game, she can effortlessly charm all she meets! I’m not sure if Eugenie remembers our first meeting at this forest. She was cute back then, but now she’s even more so—a true beauty.

She’s also different from the sophisticated beauty of the noblewomen, much more authentic and natural…! If the former is a carefully cultivated flower in a garden, Eugenie just blossomed in a wild field!

I don’t even feel I’m exaggerating: she’s a beauty who can only be described as “divine”!

It’s no wonder she would be coveted by so many men of authority, power, and good looks. The game illustration was cute, but the real thing is even more so. Who said that 3D cannot beat 2D? At least for Eugenie, the 3D version in front of me is the best!

She smells so good, too… is it her perfume? No, not perfume, she probably can’t afford it. But she still smells like flowers! Oh, the power of the Heroine of an Otome Game!

“Um, pardon me, what was that?” Eugenie asked.

“Oh, ah, um, nothing!” I stammered. “So, uh… what work did your parents do?”

“My dad was a parish priest and my mother supported him in his clergy work. But a few months ago, they died of illness, one after the other…”

“… Ah. I’m sorry for your loss.”

“Thank you.”

I dug through my memories of the game as we walked:

Eugenie’s parents opened a church and cared for the sick in their town. Even if it was just a cold, the doctors mainly provided drugs under the jurisdiction of the church, so a large number of patients rushed in. Overwhelmed and exhausted from caring for so many, Eugenie’s parents eventually contracted pneumonia and died.

“So, here we are: the forest exit,” I said. “If you walk straight, you’ll be find the entrance to Rose Village.”

“Thank you!” Eugenie said. “You’re so compassionate, my Lady…”

“As I said, it’s no trouble,” I said. “All this aside: are you free next Sunday?”

“Huh?”

“I have a tea party this Sunday afternoon and would like to invite you to it. You-You don’t have to accept it if you don’t want to!”

“Eh… I’m very grateful, but why invite me?”

“D-Don’t get the wrong idea!” I snapped. “It’s because you’re mourning your parents who died fulfilling their duties to their clergy! There’s nothing more to it than that!”

“Oh, th-thank you,” Eugenie said. “My parents will be happy to have such a compassionate person like you mourning them.”

“Huh, is that so?” I said. “Understood. I’ll have my servants send you an invitation later, so you don’t need tell me your address!”

“Understood!”

When Eugenie disappeared, I returned to the path I had rode in on. When I returned to the mansion, I went to Randolph and informed him about my inviting Eugenie to our next tea party. “A woman from Rose Village is a guest?” he asked. “Not that I mind, but it’s certainly unusual. What’s the occasion?

“The woman, Eugenie, seemed to be quite depressed,” I explained. “Her parents were devoted members of the clergy but she was orphaned just a few months ago. It’s only natural to pay our respects to the dead and care for the living. ”

“I see, I understand now,” Randolph said.

He was satisfied, so I immediately sent an invitation to Eugenie’s house—one I wrote myself. As I put pen to paper, my chest pounded from the tension and excitement.

BACKTable of ContentsNEXT

9 thoughts on “Yuri Flags with the Heroine (Episode 8): Reunion with Eugenie

    1. Having a brother complex doesn’t rule out attraction to women. You can be gay/bi and very fond of your brother. If anything Rosalind’s brother complex is the regular brother complex that comes from being a little sister with an affectionate older brother instead of the incesty one.

      Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started